Fashion Done Right

This is not a post telling you what to wear. This is not an explanation of which colors go with what others. This is not a quiz to find out your body shape and what item of clothing you should wear depending on it.

This, ladies and gents, is a round of applause for designers that know what they’re doing in all aspects their trade.

I’m trying to get myself into dresses more frequently. Summer facilitates this, as does my increasing tolerance to cold weather–thank you, sparrattic Maryland weather for that. I’ve recently purchased three dresses, two of which have liners, and reflecting on past dresses, I realize the ones that make the most sense are those with liners to them.

I’m a horribly practical person. I strive to be a minimalist. Amongst the tools I use and other various sentimental junk there is a never ending battle. And yes, you read correctly, sentimental JUNK. The vase that my husband first gave me valentines flowers in is just a vase, probably still for sale at your local Michael’s store. My childhood’s best friend is just a Ty rabbit that’s gone out of fashion and is so very worn no goodwill, salvation army, or operation Christmas child service would receive. My various childhood quilts are just a bunch of fabric someone decided looked snazzy together and my pictures and journals, the possessions dearest to me, are merely stories of people that most other people have never met.

But back to practical fashion.

See when my pragmatism collides with my fashion I have a few ideas that not many other people agree with. Or at least that not many others think of in the first place.

  1. I like to wear as little clothing as possible. If my clothes offer the support and protection necessary without me slapping on extra undergarments, all the better.
  2. My biggest pet peeve in the fashion world is probably slips. They’re made out of static creating material and they’re never the right length, form, size, whatever. And the camies that are made like slips drive me positively insane. I do not want to look like I don’t understand the concept of “neckline” thank you very much.
  3. I am modest and want coverage. Many corsets provide plenty of support and yet they don’t cover half of my *ehem*s. That’s why I sew my own corsets now. I swear when I end up at the head of a fashion line I’m going to design a specific line for women with disproportionately large busts. Can I tell you how hard it is to find a D-cup bra with a 32 in. rib cage? It’s hard. Really hard.

But what I really wanted to talk about on this blog was my appreciation for dresses with linings. See of my two dresses, one had full lining to it (good on ya, white dress designer people) and one had lining on the top half (passing grades, plaid dress designer). Now this means that I don’t have to worry about wearing a slip with my white dress, something I’ve had problems with for every single other white dress I’ve had. I’ve even had a pair of white shorts that were see through. What an embarrassment. And my plaid dress doesn’t catch in awkward places on my top half. It’s a wonderful life, I tell ya.

So bravo, people who make clothing with liners. You do the world good.

I realize this has been a bit of a rant and it’s completely unstructured, but some of you readers seem to like those kinds of posts. So there you go. The only thing I’ve revised are various spelling mistakes. You stay classy, rant readers.

One thought on “Fashion Done Right

Leave a Reply

