Finlandia

One of my favorite songs my school has ever performed, I can not find the lyrics particular to the arrangement I am most familiar with, so I have decided to post them for you online, here. Also see this video for the closest recording of the song I can find.

Oh gracious Lord, by whom the morning dawneth,
Now in thy mercy bless our native land.
Let thy light shine to drive away the shadows,
And free our homes from war’s cruel hands,
To Thee our people pray for Truth and Justice,
And in thy faith united they stand.

Thy wisdom infinite is our reliance.
Thy hand shall keep your people strong and free.
They sow the seed, they calmly wait the harvest,
And give Thee thanks whatever it be.
Our honest toil and zeal shall bring us gladness,
For joy is theirs whose hopes rest in thee.

To such a nation such as this I could pledge my allegiance.

Leave a Reply

