I am writing a note of complaint.

Now, those of you who know me personally know that for the amount of complaining I do on a day to day basis, it rarely is to a degree that requires action from me, specifically. However, this time I am annoyed and feel that this warrants a rebuttal and thus I plan on taking action against the false ideas perpetuated in this article. The article is talking about this bill. I have never been so disgusted with Focus on the Family in my entire life.

And that, ladies and gents, is a vast understatement.

I am seething. Focus on the Family, this “Tom” person, specifically, has taken a bill that is federally mandating a clearer definition of hate crimes and turning it on it’s ear to make it sound as if Christians are being persecuted more than they really are. We’re persecuted enough on a day to day basis, globally, thanks. I don’t think we need to exaggerate the lives being given in any number of countries in the name of Christ and of freedom. And this man dares, DARES to suggest that our freedoms will be snuffed out so easily. Dares to suggest that pastors will be put through civil disciplines because they don’t like homosexuals? ABSURDITY IS RUNNING A MUCK AMONG US!!! I am honestly in disbelief of this man’s Ignorance.

Now, you’ll have to excuse me, but my furosity is getting the best of me, so instead of writing an original incerpt here, I’m going to cut and paste from an email I sent to my mom in response to this.

That’s an absurd fabrication of the bill. The bill is being passed to federally mandate specifics on hate crimes, that is to say crimes committed because of race, religion, sexual orientation, etc. If pastors are telling their congregations that the should be violently attacking and vandalizing against the black sins of the world (such as homosexuality and transgender procedures) then they should already have lawyers in place considering no public speaker that encourages violence should be so naive as to assume that should their followers actually take action, that leader will not meet civil discipline. And that’s assuming that civil authorities get to the pastor first.

My bigger shtick about this bill is that it’s federally mandating something that is already specified in almost every state’s legislation. Every single state in every single jurisdiction has penalties against any crimes that could be consider hate crimes, so this bill is merely blanketing all of those state laws to investigate intent and label those suitable as “hate crimes”. In my opinion the federal government has no business in this. States are responsible to decide what is and is not a crime and what is punishable to what degree. The federal government has no business getting involved.

I posted this on facebook to get some feedback and Nick made a good point: it seems as if this writer is producing a topic that will be controversial and wide spread so as to get more publicity, especially considering that there is not one opportunity, but two to make donations to the organization, highlighted in blue, one of which is in a sidebar bordered and standing out rather nicely. Particularly the blue “give now” button. I would think that were this as serious an issue as this man makes it to be, the idea of getting donations would be so far less of a concern that it would not be included at all.

It DISGUSTS me to see Christian circles sensationalize around this bill. There are similar news stories in other Christian forums and it’s absolutely absurd. Christian organizations need to get their heads checked. As do blind Christian followers. Our faith is one following Jesus, the Christ. What we’re doing following large organizations that seem to know what they’re saying (and clearly are mistaken with some further research) I do not know. I will be praying for those people who read this article. That they will not be so very blind.

And now for something completely different: The Annapolis Area Christian School Golden Eagles Marching Band is doing a show called the apocalypse this year (or something similar). I am thrilled with it because it’s in a minor key and has some wicked chord progressions. Now if we could just get a few more trumpet players…

Leave a Reply

