Homesick

I. Could. Stand here lookin at you for a thousand years.
And if I could, I’d fly to the heavens and meet you there,
But this gravity keeps holdin me down.

I will have periods of time where I feel homesick. Sometimes just a few hours, sometimes a few days, sometimes lingering for a few weeks. And the homesickness isn’t one that’s for being at my house or someone’s house or even for the home I’ll have one day with my husband, whoever he may be. It’s the home I know that I have waiting for me in my next life…I feel like it’s so close, close enough to almost touch…just barely close enough to long for. And yet it’s so far away. And so my friends, if I tell you that I am homesick, know that it is for no home any man can provide.

Leave a Reply

